Walk along the aisles of a grocery store and you’ll see product labels with phrases like “sugar-free,” “fat-free” and “low-sodium,” the world of food communication has developed its own lingo.
Among these popular diet trends and eating styles, the practice of gluten-free eating has taken hold of many grocery lists. Whether by necessity or by preference, gluten-free products and labeling have soared in demand from grocery stores to specialty food shops.
For those who may not have adapted to the lifestyle, or are interested in exploring the benefits of these habits, gluten-free can mean different things to different people. Some are strict in their exposure to all kinds of grains, especially those with celiac disease. Some may have more flexibility in what they allow themselves to eat.
To help you explore how you can utilize your EVOO and balsamic vinegar into your gluten-free cooking, here we share what gluten-free means and great ways to amp up your cooking.
Gluten-free. It’s a term we hear often. Gluten is the protein ingredient that gives breads and other grain products its elasticity. It is responsible for the food’s texture, shape and overall presentation. Things like wheat, barley and rye are some of the most often heard ingredients that contain gluten. Remember that some not all grains contain gluten, including oats, quinoa and brown rice.
So a food label with “gluten-free” means that it doesn’t really contain gluten. According to the FDA rules, for a food to be labeled as “gluten-free,” it must contain no more than 20 parts per million of this gluten protein. Some foods may be gluten-free without actually be having the FDA label.
There are some foods that require no research into whether or not it’s gluten-free. Foods like fruits and fresh vegetables naturally don’t contain gluten. Others, like gluten-free breads or pastas, are produced to remove gluten in the manufacturing process. These two different approaches to freedom from gluten have different health benefits - especially as fruits and vegetables tend to be higher in nutritional value.
And with Fustini’s Oils and Vinegars, you can get a delightful flavor, free from gluten and high in nutritional value.
If you’re on a gluten-free diet by necessity or by choice, you can still incorporate wholesome, flavorful and nutritious olive oil and balsamics into all your cooking and baking.
Infused Extra Virgin Olive Oils and Balsamic Vinegars incorporate flavorful fruits and robust herbs naturally. That means they don’t start or end with any grain products in them. Non-infused products like three aged balsamic vinegars or 11 single varietal EVOOs also don’t contain any gluten naturally or from production.
If you’ve ever struggled to find the right ingredients that you’re allowed to incorporate into your diet - whether out of necessity or choice - this freedom is great news. When you’re surrounded by limitations, EVOO and balsamic offer you freedom and opportunity.
Looking for ways and great recipes to try out as you explore the world of gluten-free cooking? Here are some fun and healthy ideas to get you started:
Marinated Squash - amp up boring zucchini and yellow squash with this flavor-packed recipe to grill or cook up your fresh veggies, completely gluten-free.
As someone navigating eating gluten-free, you shouldn’t have to sacrifice satisfying and delicious flavor for your health. With easy ways to incorporate flavor-infused EVOO and balsamic vinegars, you can have the best of both worlds. Living without gluten can actually be a tasty and delightful way to eat.
Share on Twitter Share on Facebook Back to News
Sign up now for our email newsletter!
Click here for our newsletter archive.
Download our nutritional fact sheets:
Find Fustini's here and see how our restaurant partners are integrating our oils & vinegars into the menu and on to the table.